Dixon’s Dracula

I’m quite impressed by the artistic talent of one of my Facebook friends, Thomas Allen Dixon. You may recall his fantastic portrait of Christopher Lee’s Count Dracula, which was featured on this blog (Hogg 2013).

A little while ago, I spotted another one of his Dracula-inspired works on Facebook and asked him if I could post it here, too. He’s graciously given me permission to do so. I think you’ll be just as impressed by it as I am:

1476167_1478922439000235_1204232659_n

1374898_1478922042333608_1458767207_n

Today, I asked Dixon for a little background info on the illustrations. Here’s what he told me via Facebook chat:

I love the novel Dracula and thought it would be fun to do a graphic novel of it – but I quickly realized what a huge job that would be . I just need one more life time and I could get it done !

I asked when he drew it. “Oh – i forgot – about 1985 .” He added, “It’s all ink pen and brush – the spider web is acrylic paint !” and “The Transylvania scenes are drawn from photos in the In Search of Dracula book !”—a reference to Raymond T. McNally and Radu Florescu’s In Search of Dracula: A True History of Dracula and Vampire Legends (1972) or one of its reprints.

I’ll add that Dixon’s rendering of Count Dracula and Jonathan Harker have, let’s say, more than a passing resemblance to the characters in Terence Fisher’s Dracula (1958). Nonetheless, here’s hoping Dixon finds the time he needs to complete the comic!

References

Hogg, Anthony. 2013. “Prints of Darkness.” The Vampirologist, October 27. http://thevampirologist.wordpress.com/2013/10/27/prints-of-darkness/.

Leave a Reply

