Prints of Darkness

I was quite impressed by the following picture posted by Thomas Allen Dixon on the Facebook group, “Count Dracula”, which I co-admin. Particularly its accompanying caption: “I painted this for a high school art class about 1976 . (Acrylic 16 x 20).”

1381980_1460572104168602_1940085528_n

christopher-lee-as-count-dracula1A high school kid painted that! Incredible. You’ll probably recognise it as a scene from Terence Fisher’s Dracula (1958) (left), better known by its American title: Horror of Dracula. That’s Count Dracula (Christopher Lee) at the top of the stairs, just after Jonathan Harker (John Van Eyssen) staked Drac’s “bride”. He’s not a happy chappy.

Anyway, after my expressing my astoundment at the quality of his work, Dixon elaborated: “I started drawing at about 5 . My dad said I drew up about 5000 sheets of card board he had at the time . Drawing is kind of like a nervous tick with me , I can’t stop doing it .”

I asked him if I could post his painting on here, with a little bit of a backstory. He agreed and added:

I wanted to be an Illustrator when I was a kid . I really loved Warren magazines and artists like Neil Adams ,Basil Gogos ,and Richard Corben .I came under the spell of Universal and Hammer films as well . I went to John Herron school of art and decided I could make a better living at carving stone in southern Indiana and it has worked out well for me , and that ‘s what I do now.

Dixon works at Bybee Stone Co, Inc., Ellettsville, Indiana and teaches stone sculpting at the Indianapolis Art Center. His art can be viewed on his Facebook page.

Images

Ricky. 2009. “A Love Letter to Count Dracula.” Sound on Sight, April 15. http://www.soundonsight.org/weekly-body-counta-love-letter-to-count-dracula/.

Dixon, Thomas Allen. 2013. Photos from Thomas Allen Dixon’s post in Count Dracula. Facebook, October 26. https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=1460572104168602&set=gm.453793218064531&type=1&relevant_count=1&ref=nf.

Leave a Reply

