Introduction to Vampires Class

Lure of the vampire print cover july2

Back, spine and front cover of Bertena Varney’s Lure of the Vampire: A Pop Culture Reference Book (2014). (Photo: Patti Roberts)

Last year, I enrolled in “Introduction to Vampires,” an online correspondence course run through the Mystical Paranormal Academy by Bertena Varney, author of Lure of the Vampire (2011; 2013; 2014). I said I was “just waiting for her course book, Lure of the Vampire, to arrive in the mail as the touchstone toward commencing study. I know it’s gonna be very easy for me—Bertena, herself, told me that—but I’m looking forward to earning my certificate all the same.” (Chapman 2014)

That moment came and went: the book arrived on August 18. I began reading it, but never got around to starting the course due to extensive work on Vamped, forgetfulness, laziness and my personal life getting in the way. Far be it from me to fail a basic vampire course through sheer negligence, I’ve decided to begin work on it; and you’ll be joining me for the journey, because my homework and assignments will be done through this very blog! (Bertena gave me permission to do so)

There are ten lessons and accompanying homework in the course and a final. Each one shall be completed as a blog post. My answers must be referenced; fortunately, I’m a dab hand at that through my online writings. I usually use Chicago Author-Date referencing, but Bertena said to use either APA (American Psychological Association) or MLA (Modern Language Association) referencing—I’ll be using MLA, a referencing system more commonly used in the humanities (Hacker and Fister n.d.).

I’ll now demonstrate how much they differ in a reference list. Let’s use Erin’s interview with me as an example. Here’s how it looks in Chicago Author-Date:

Chapman, Erin. 2014. “Interview with the Vampirologist.” Vamped, August 17. Accessed March 15, 2015. http://vamped.org/2014/08/17/interview-with-the-vampirologist/.

And in MLA:

Chapman, Erin. “Interview with the Vampirologist.” Vamped. Vamped, 17 Aug. 2014. Web. 15 Mar. 2015. < http://vamped.org/2014/08/17/interview-with-the-vampirologist/ >.

I know. It looks weird. Let’s try a book. What better than Bertena’s coursebook? Chicago:

Varney, Bertena. 2014. Lure of the Vampire: A Pop Culture Reference Book. Gainesville, FL: Indie Publishing House.

MLA:

Varney, Bertena. Lure of the Vampire: A Pop Culture Reference Book. Gainesville, FL: Indie Publishing House, 2014. Print.

Very different. Anyway, I experimented using the MLA some time ago, but I’ve gone a bit rusty. Thankfully, the Purdue OWL’s “Online Writing Lab” has an excellent section on citing works in MLA format (Seas and Brizee 2011). I recommend Purdue OWL to anyone wanting to learn writing styles: it’s a brilliant resource.

So, stay tuned for more posts. Never have I been so pleased to share my homework. I think by the end of it, I’ll compile all lessons into a mini “book” (page) for this blog. We’ll see.

References

Chapman, Erin. 2014. “Interview with the Vampirologist.” Vamped, August 17. Accessed March 15, 2015. http://vamped.org/2014/08/17/interview-with-the-vampirologist/.

Hacker, Diana, and Barbara Fister. n.d. “MLA Style: English and Other Humanities.” Research and Documentation Online 5th Edition. Accessed March 15, 2015. http://bcs.bedfordstmartins.com/resdoc5e/RES5e_ch08_o.html.

Seas, Kristen, and Allen Brizee. 2011. “MLA Overview and Workshop.” Purdue OWL. Accessed March 15, 2015. https://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/675/01/.

Image

Roberts, Patti. 2014. “Lure of the Vampire: A Pop Culture Reference Book by Bertena Varney.” Patti Roberts and Guests (blog), July 16. Accessed March 15, 2015. http://paradox-theangelsarehere.blogspot.com.au/2014/07/lure-of-vampire-pop-culture-reference.html.

2 thoughts on “Introduction to Vampires Class

Leave a Reply

